Dreams come true! Part 1

photo-001

“Be on your guard; stand firm in the faith; be courageous; be strong.”

1 Corinthians 16:13

So, there it was- my chance to see America!

That was it, my dream was coming true, and all I had to do was to trust Him. My heart was full of love and thankfulness, and I was overwhelmed with excitement. I couldn’t wait to see what God prepared for me and what journey He was taking me to. I kept His promise in my heart:

“Never will I leave you; Never will I forsake you;
The Lord is my helper; I will not fear.
What can man do to me?”

Hebrews 13:5

I didn’t know where I was going to live or what was waiting for me, all I had was the address of my work place and $200. I was a pretty shy girl, and the thought of me going to another country all by myself seemed questionable and even dangerous for many people.

I had complete trust in Him, love for Him and faith in Him. I was absolutely sure that no matter what my path would be, God would never leave me.

My final destination was Myrtle Beach, SC. When I got off the bus, everything looked so different. It was another country, another culture, another language… it was a completely new experience for me. I prayed to God to lead me in my journey and have a confident heart. I wanted to be free of fear, and embrace this new opportunity with confidence and strength.

Confused and looking for somewhere to stay, I was surprised to see the car that just passed me turn back towards my direction and stop. Inside was a couple that I came to know as Jack and Lisa. I was always told not to talk to stranger but yet something about them made me feel at ease. A lovely couple, probably 40 years my elder, suddenly became my only 2 friends in this new world, called America.

My life changed after that…

From the very first minute of talking to Jack and Lisa, I could feel that they were genuinely concerned about my well-being and didn’t seem to want anything in return except to know that I was ok. I was amazed how kind and thoughtful they were and how lucky I was to meet them. Our friendship was getting deeper and stronger.

Myrtle Beach is a great resort area, which welcomes many tourists and many exchange students like me to work in summer. I felt grateful to have 2 jobs and to be able to make some money to cover my travel expenses. I became the best at work and put my best effort in everything I did. I had so much love for everyone, and I enjoyed meeting new people, working with them and serving them. No one was a stranger to me, I welcomed everyone and I thanked God for being in US, in the country of my dream.

In my spare time I loved walking along the beach after work hours and just being with God, giving Him praise and thanking Him.

I didn’t notice how time went by and the summer was coming to the end.
Though my heart was with US, and there was nothing more I wanted in my life, but be in America, I had to come back to Russia.

I trusted God to give me a chance to come back next year and continue my journey.

To be continued

“Never will I leave you; Never will I forsake you;
The Lord is my helper; I will not fear.
What can man do to me?”

Hebrews 13:5

“The Lord is my rock, my fortress and my deliverer;
My God is my rock, in whom I take refuge,
My shield and the horn of my salvation, my stronghold.”

Psalm 18:2

 

Olga

http://www.olgatodd.com

Leave a Reply

