Trusting God. Part 2

photo-001

“Do not fear, for I have redeemed you;   I have summoned you by name; you are mine.  When you pass through the waters,   I will be with you.”

Isaiah 43:1

Back in Russia, I stayed in touch with Jack and Lisa. I would write them emails and share with them my stories. I thanked God for sending them  in my life and becoming such good friends.

Next summer I applied for the same program and went back to US. I was supposed to go to PA this time, but when I got to NY to get further directions to my place of destination, I realized it did not exist. I was given a fake work permit. Since I had no other place to go, I decided to stay in NY and see where life would take me.

Well, good thing was that the year before I actually entertained the idea of living in NY, so I was curious to see how it would all work out for me. First day in NY I met 2 other Russian girls who let me stay at their aunt’s house while looking for a job. What’s interesting is that no matter how hard I tried and how many places I went to, no one would hire me. No one.

After several weeks of trying, I started doubting:

“Why are you not helping me? I got a fake contract, I’m running out of money, I have no permanent place to live, and no matter how hard I pray, things just don’t work out for me”, I cried out to God.

One of the verses came to my mind that day:

“Do not fear, for I have redeemed you;
I have summoned you by name; you are mine.

When you pass through the waters,
I will be with you;
and when you pass through the rivers,
they will not sweep over you.

When you walk through the fire,
you will not be burned;
the flames will not set you ablaze.

For I am the Lord your God,
the Holy One of Israel, your Savior;

Isaiah 43:1-3

I remember staying up that night and praying and asking God to help me, just to tell me what to do. I knew it was His plan for me to come to US, so I knew He would walk me through any trouble… so why wasn’t He?

Now I know why… it simply wasn’t His plan. No matter how hard I tried, it didn’t work out- I wasn’t His plan for me. So, I asked Him that night “What is Your plan for me? Can you tell me? I trust You and I will obey you, just let me know what to do”.

And He did!

The next day I got an email from Jack and Lisa inviting me to go to Myrtle Beach. How could I forget about them? Of course I would love to go see my friends! The email I got from them was God’s answer to my prayer. I packed my bag and went back to Myrtle Beach the next day.  I got hope in my heart and I was trusting God to change things for the better.

As I got there, I noticed how easy and quick everything started working out for me. I got immediately hired by the place I worked at last summer and I got a place to live at Jack’s house. I was grateful to God for showing me the right way to go and for supporting me.

  To be continued…

“The Lord is my strength and my defense; he has become my salvation. He is my God, and I will praise him, my father’s God, and I will exalt him.”

Exodus 15:2

“Do not fear, for I have redeemed you;   I have summoned you by name; you are mine.  When you pass through the waters,   I will be with you.”

Isaiah 43:1

 

Olga

http://www.olgatodd.com

Leave a Reply

